Spring

I have been thinking about moving to Los Angeles. Not that this is necessarily a realistic possibility but sometimes a little day dreaming is required. I was imagining what it would be like to have endless days of balmy sunshine. Would it wonderful? Would you wake every morning with the cheer and enthusiasm which usually goes with a sunny day or would it become boring and interminable? I spoke to someone who said the year stretches out in one long, unbroken ribbon as there are no seasons to show you where you are. The whole thing has made me think and what I thought was – Spring is the best season and I would miss it. It brings such a sense of relief to have greenery and colour after the monochrome winter. Also, it would be odd (boring) not to have a changing picture as I like the way different plants come and go. It’s a bit like having guests to stay. Anyway, it has all made me pay particular attention to Spring and I have done a list. In fact two lists, because lists are better than day dreams.

1) The plants to avoid planting for spring:
Muscari. They are very beautiful when they start but they are so ugly and stringy by the end of their flowering it’s negates all their previous beauty.
Wisteria. I think it’s very pretty in someone else’s garden but it’s a great big bother in one’s own. In fact it doubles my joy when I see it and don’t have to deal with pruning and taming it.

_DSC0015
Do not be fooled by this beauty

2) Plants that are worth planting.
Any Euphorbias. They have their acid yellow flowers in the Spring and that’s just what you want to kick off the season.
Nigella – Love in a Mist – these aren’t flowering in Spring but they come into leaf early with their feathery leaves and add colour, because green is a colour.
Equally Poppies are good as they leaf up early too and they have very big strident foliage.
Forget-me-nots. I have a love hate with these weed/flowers. They are a total joy at the start of Spring but are a pest once they’ve finished flowering and go straggly and mildewed. However, they are easy to rip up with is very satisfying and unlike the Muscari their ending ugliness doesn’t overshadow their initial beauty.

That was the extent of my thoughts – small brain, not much room.

Beautiful Forget me nots

Beautiful Forget me nots

_DSC0023

Euphorbias are amazing for the Spring Garden. Here with Rosemary and a tulip whose name I can’t remember.

5 comments

  1. I have to agree with the forget-me-nots….such a love/hate relationship! Those sticky little seed pods. But I adore poppies and in my garden I am only seldom without one or two in bloom

  2. Thank you for your comment – I do love poppies but isn’t there always a touch of disappointment the flowers last for such a small amount of time. We need poppies with the flowering power of the forget-me-nots!

  3. I love your ideas. You always explain everything so well, that I can practically imagine it. I agree that Wisteria is a beautiful plant, but definitely not suitable for people with limited free time. I’ve tried to grow it in my garden, and it was like a weed magnet indeed. I also think that spring is the best season of all, because this is the only time of the year you can observe how the nature comes back to life, which is a beautiful process.

Leave a Reply

igrowhort - grow your gardening knowledge

A Head Gardeners of Life, Love and Learning

Railway Parade House and Garden

The evolution of the house and garden at Railway Parade

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

#blackthumbs

Celebrating horticultural failure

detoxbotoxanddonuts

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Inspiring through the lens

Pictures by Daniel

chriscondello

Green Thumbed Vagabond

The Cynical Gardener

The most Dangerous plant to sleep under is the water lilly

sometimes gardening

For proper plant help and information go to - www.wikigardening.com

Notes From The Snug

Prose, Ponderings and Simple Pleasures

Southbourne Gardens

A slice of the good life

Ben's Garden Log

A Very Fertile blog

Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

Garden Veg Growing

A Gardener in France

Garden Design Academy - English garden designer in the Loire Valley

David's Garden Diary

The Cottage Garden Society - Cotswold Group

hillwards

Diary of a hilltop garden

Hurtled to 60 and Now Beyond...

A garden must combine the poetic and the mysterious with a feeling of serenity and joy - Luis Barragan

