Busy doing nothing

Eremurus or the Fox Tail Lily

Eremurus or the Fox Tail Lily

I have been busy doing nothing. I know this is an awful thing to admit as doing nothing, been wanted by no one, is the worst of all social failings. It also leaves no excuse as to why I haven’t been into the garden. ( I did go out once to see if the drain was over flowing again but I’m not sure that counts as gardening.) I’m beginning to feel a bit depressed by this inability to grasp the nettle. So, I have decided that on Friday I’m going to do it. There isn’t any rain forecast and I’m going to go out and garden. I’ll set the timer for twenty minutes and see how it goes.

It is now wednesday and I missed that Friday and now the next Friday is rapidly approaching. I see that the problem is a failure to do a proper autumn tidy. No wonder its such a big event in the gardening calendar. If it wasn’t in such a mess to start with, it wouldn’t be such an impossible hill of neglect to climb.

The solution I think is to buy something. Accordingly, I have ordered some Eremurus and Canna bulbs. This kills two birds with one stone. Firstly, I will have to go out and plant them or they will die, which means I will have done something. Secondly, I have never grown either before so that means buying them fulfils this years resolution to disrupt the natural order of things and there by gain greater mental health and strength. Who would have thought Cannas of all things could improve mental health.

One comment

Leave a Reply

igrowhort - grow your gardening knowledge

A Head Gardeners of Life, Love and Learning

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

#blackthumbs

Celebrating horticultural failure

detoxbotoxanddonuts

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Inspiring through the lens

Pictures by Daniel

chriscondello

Green Thumbed Vagabond

The Cynical Gardener

The most Dangerous plant to sleep under is the water lilly

sometimes gardening

For proper plant help and information go to - www.wikigardening.com

Notes From The Snug

Prose, Ponderings and Simple Pleasures

Southbourne Gardens

A slice of the good life

Ben's Garden Log

A Very Fertile blog

Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

Garden Veg Growing

A Gardener in France

Garden Design Academy - English garden designer in the Loire Valley

David's Garden Diary

The Cottage Garden Society - Cotswold Group

hillwards

Diary of a hilltop garden

Hurtled to 60 and Now Beyond...

A garden must combine the poetic and the mysterious with a feeling of serenity and joy - Luis Barragan

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

