It has been raining for so long now

that the back garden looks like it has started to sink in on itself. The neighbours fence has collapsed like a piece of soggy cardboard and lies about like a lazy drunk, half in our garden, half in theirs. A quick glance from the kitchen window and the grass looks surprisingly green. I try not to look too hard because I know that in reality it’s a horrible sticky mud sludge with a few bits of green grass clinging to it. I can feel the mud sticking to my shoes even just looking at it. This is nothing new, the lawn is awful and always has been. It’s a small garden in London, with a high water table so it’s a hopeless mess. It’s a kind of sport watching my husband picking his way gingerly to the shed and knowing the explosion of frustration as he returns after the muddy ordeal. I should try and do something about it, but it’s too cold and horrible for such a big project. Luckily, by the time it’s warm enough to tackle it, the grass will have dried out and the problem will have vanished. So, for the moment I just keep to glancing and not looking properly. I went out to take a photo today – anything pretty I could put in here to jolly it up a bit. There wasn’t a single thing that was flowering or looking nice. I was strangely heartened by that. I thought that I had done a really good job of having a garden that was having a bit of down time.

_DSC0031

On a completely different and unrelated point. The foxes are back and all look fully grown. First there was a running battle between four of them at 8.30 am out on the street. It was extraordinary to see so many in such broad day light. Later, I saw two in the back garden. One was definitely plump and neither of them were remotely bothered when I wrapped like a bad tempered gnome on the window. I scowled and shooed at them, they just stared at me. I opened the back door and they still just stayed looking. I got a pan and a wooden spoon and walked out banging that. They scarped then. On the way back into the house I spied what I thought was a crocus starting to flower. I bent down and peered at it in such an ungainly way. I straightened up quickly and thought, I’m turning into my granny.

 

5 comments

  1. My compost is waterlogged an d very heavy to turn…..it’s almost impossible to mix it but I continue to add, turn, scatter Garotta and mix as well as I can, all the while looking forward to creating a wonderful blend to enrich my garden soon!

  2. My garden was much the same and also had fence problems with the wind. My plastic greenhouse fell over and destroyed some of my plants. After that, I decided to tidy up the garden. I dug up turf in preparation for a new flower bed for the spring, composted some material into my vegetable patch, and cut all the turf growing out onto the paths. Even in this wet weather, there can still be a lot to do 😀
    I hope your fence problem gets fixed soon.

  3. We all know UK is rainy, but this was something else. I’ve never seen so severe floods around Thames. Some of my friends who live there suffered greatly, so you are actually pretty lucky with so minor damage.

  4. I empathize. In the Toronto area, we’ve had snow on the ground for about 100 days straight – maybe more by now. Yet I think I’d rather have snow than endless rain. Now, I whisper those words, because I have no idea what the spring will bring, and we shall have to bear it, no matter!
    Re: the foxes: dos their presence mean an abundance of rabbits in your area? Or a lack thereof?

Leave a Reply

igrowhort - grow your gardening knowledge

A Head Gardeners of Life, Love and Learning

Railway Parade House and Garden

The evolution of the house and garden at Railway Parade

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

#blackthumbs

Celebrating horticultural failure

detoxbotoxanddonuts

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Inspiring through the lens

Pictures by Daniel

chriscondello

Green Thumbed Vagabond

The Cynical Gardener

The most Dangerous plant to sleep under is the water lilly

sometimes gardening

For proper plant help and information go to - www.wikigardening.com

Notes From The Snug

Prose, Ponderings and Simple Pleasures

Southbourne Gardens

A slice of the good life

Ben's Garden Log

A Very Fertile blog

Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

Garden Veg Growing

A Gardener in France

Garden Design Academy - English garden designer in the Loire Valley

David's Garden Diary

The Cottage Garden Society - Cotswold Group

hillwards

Diary of a hilltop garden

Hurtled to 60 and Now Beyond...

A garden must combine the poetic and the mysterious with a feeling of serenity and joy - Luis Barragan

