June brings a sense of rising panic.

One moment I feel quite on top of things in the garden. I mean obviously it’s sprawling and untidy, but it seems manageable. In Spring it’s easy as things grow at a reasonable pace. However, when I went out yesterday it was almost completely out of control. The bindweed has arrived in force. The other day it was just the odd spindly bit and yet now almost everywhere I look I see it. In a bid to make a difference I dug up the Rose Campion as it just looked like a mass of moth eaten pink flowers. I also pulled up a Dianthus – it’s a deep red and I really only like the gaudy pink ones. I know it makes no impact on the weed situation but for a moment I felt in control.

Ladybird poppies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These aren’t my poppies, I did sow some seeds but they were watered out of existence by the three year old. This photo is from my imaginary garden (and one down the road)

I feel I should write one useful thing. This time … Geum ‘Mrs Bradshaw’ is the best flower for May/June. Red is a great colour in the garden and it goes with anything – the acid pinks of Peonies, pale pink of roses, rich purple alliums, blue forget-me-nots …. anything you can throw at it. If you don’t have any, plant some and you will be delighted.

Finally, about the foxes – I let Charlie out this morning and when I went to let him back in there was the fox cub with him, right outside the kitchen door. It scarpered as soon as I opened it, but only as far as the bit by the kitchen window. It’s the same cub that was in the garden before, I’m sure of it.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

igrowhort - grow your gardening knowledge

A Head Gardeners of Life, Love and Learning

The Frustrated Gardener

The life and loves of a time-poor plantsman

#blackthumbs

Celebrating horticultural failure

detoxbotoxanddonuts

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Inspiring through the lens

Pictures by Daniel

chriscondello

Green Thumbed Vagabond

The Cynical Gardener

The most Dangerous plant to sleep under is the water lilly

sometimes gardening

For proper plant help and information go to - www.wikigardening.com

Notes From The Snug

Prose, Ponderings and Simple Pleasures

Southbourne Gardens

A slice of the good life

Ben's Garden Log

A Very Fertile blog

Two Chances Veg Plot Blog

Garden Veg Growing

A Gardener in France

Garden Design Academy - English garden designer in the Loire Valley

David's Garden Diary

The Cottage Garden Society - Cotswold Group

hillwards

Diary of a hilltop garden

Hurtled to 60 and Now Beyond...

A garden must combine the poetic and the mysterious with a feeling of serenity and joy - Luis Barragan

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

